Due to the COVID 19 Pandemic both the 5th and 6th commemorations of the Lily Mine disaster were held virtually and via alternative means.

4th Lily Mine Commemoration 2020

2020 marked four years since the Lily Mine collapse claimed the lives of AMCU members Pretty Nkambule, Yvonne Mnsisi, and Solomon Nyirende.

As always, without fail AMCU President Joseph Mathunjwa along with his leadership were there to commemorate this day with the community and family relatives of the fallen comrades who tragically lost their lives on that fateful day.

3rd Lily Mine Commemoration 2019

On 5 February 2016, the collapse at the entrance at Lily Mine caused a container office with three workers inside to plunge 60 meters underground.

The third Lily Mine commemoration, held on 5 February 2019, was marred with mixed emotions as the Association of Mineworkers and Construction Union (AMCU) members gathered at the mine to commemorate the lives of Pretty Nkambule, Yvonne Mnisi, and Solomon Nyirende.

AMCU President Joseph Mathunjwa addressed the attendees comprising of AMCU members, the families of the trio, executives of SSC Group, and members from the Department of Mineral Resources, calling on relevant stakeholders to take action in bringing closure to the Nkambule, Mnisi, and Nyirende families to truly commemorate and honour the memories of their fallen relatives.

“We must bring dignity to the memories of these fallen comrades, this is a must! Comrades Pretty, Solomon, and Yvonne are still buried in there and there is nothing dignified about this situation. We will never stop making noise about this tragic Lily Mine disaster,” declared President Joseph Mathunjwa.

3rd Lily Mine Commemoration 2019 - Event Gallery

All images, text, and other materials posted on this site are subject to copyright owned by AMCU under South African copyright laws. Any reproduction, retransmission, distribution or replication of all or part of any images, text, and other materials found on this site is prohibited, unless express permission has been granted in writing by AMCU.